Standing shoulder to shoulder since 1614 on the most storied stretch of the Western canal belt, Herengracht 134 and Herengracht 136 are complementary adjoining canal houses blessed with a delightful secret: their extensive communal gardens.
Number 134 is known locally as D’Beeck after it was acquired by the merchant Lucas van Beeck in the 17th century. In 1750, following renovations to the property, a descendant had the family name proudly carved on the building’s flat, stone façade.
In architectural terms, the grand, high-ceilinged main entrance hall to number 136 is the property’s undeniable pièce de résistance, featuring astonishing original ornamentation, marble masonry and unique wallpapers.
Both properties have been modernised to the highest possible standard with utmost care for their original charms, creating light, contemporary office space with a majestic pedigree. There’s even a garden house for when the lush greenery proves just too alluring.